Once complete, ICON Water Trails will span 150 miles of creeks and rivers across Central Iowa. It’s a transformation that will make our community a better place to live, work, play and visit. Meet the individuals and organizations who are working to make this vision a reality.

ICON Water Trails Board

Local leaders on the ICON Water Trails Board of Directors represent the public and private sectors. They oversee ICON’s operation and maintenance, which includes its budget and project coordination.

Rona Berinobis* VP Corporate Social Responsibility & Organizational Development

Pat Boddy Councilmember
City of Urbandale

Connie Boesen Mayor
City of Des Moines

Angela Connolly* Supervisor
Polk County Board of Supervisors

Chris Costa* President & CEO
Knapp Properties

Paula Dierenfeld Mayor
City of Johnston

Greg Edwards* President & CEO
Catch Des Moines

Joe Gatto Councilmember
City of Des Moines

Tom Hockensmith Supervisor
Polk County Board of Supervisors

Nate Hoogeveen Director of River Programs
Iowa DNR

Co-Chair: Dan Houston* President & CEO
Principal Financial Group

Hannah Inman* CEO
Great Outdoors Foundation

Kathryn Kunert* VP Economic Connections and Integration
MidAmerican Energy

Rich Leopold Director
Polk County Conservation

Michael Libbie Councilmember
City of Windsor Heights

Partner City Rep: Jaki Livingston Councilmember
City of Norwalk

Angela McKenzie Councilmember
City of Bondurant

Co-Chair: Matt McKinney* Councilmember
City of West Des Moines

Dean O’Connor Mayor
City of Altoona

Jeff Rommel* Senior Vice President – Property & Casualty Sales

Rick Tollakson* President & CEO
Hubbell Realty Company

Ted Weaver Council Member
City of Clive

*ICON Executive Committee

Board Meeting Schedules

The Board of Directors meets bi-monthly, on the second Tuesday of the month at 7:30 a.m. Upcoming meetings are on:

  • April 9, 2024
  • June 11, 2024

Please contact our team at info@iconwatertrails.com for agenda information.

Participating Jurisdictions

ICON is a regional initiative with a dozen participating partners. These municipalities, counties and government entities work together to oversee access points, improvements and amenities.

  • Altoona
  • Bondurant
  • Clive
  • Des Moines
  • Johnston
  • Norwalk
  • Polk County
  • Polk County Conservation
  • Urbandale
  • Waukee
  • West Des Moines
  • Windsor Heights

ICON Investments Selection Committee

This group oversees private funds given to the Downtown Capital Project Fund.

  • Todd Ashby Des Moines Area MPO
  • Rona Berinobis Athene
  • Jay Byers Greater Des Moines Partnership
  • Angela Connolly Polk County 
  • Chris Costa Knapp Properties
  • Thad Franklin Assessment Solutions
  • Joe Gatto City of Des Moines
  • Dan Houston Principal
  • Kristi Knous Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines 
  • Sharon Krause Kum & Go
  • Kathryn Kunert MidAmerican Energy
  • Tom Mahoney ITA Group (Retired)
  • Joey Taylor-Moon Hubbell Realty Company
  • Gerry Neugent Knapp Properties
  • Chair: Jeff Rommel Nationwide
  • Julie Stewart Prairie Meadows
  • Rick Tollakson Hubbell Realty Company

Campaign Advisory Council

These people make private fundraising possible for ICON Water Trails. They give their time and talent to advance the project and its goals.

  • Robert Brownell
  • Joyce Chapman
  • Steve Chapman
  • Jim Cownie
  • Jen Cross
  • Allison Fleming
  • Bill Knapp
  • Linda Koehn
  • Tom Koehn
  • Kyle Krause
  • Sharon Krause
  • Steve Lacy
  • Gene Meyer
  • Libby Nelson
  • Suku Radia
  • Jeff Rommel
  • Tiffany Tauscheck
  • Fred Weitz
  • Connie Wimer
  • Steve Zumbach

Founding Consortium Members

ICON began in the Central Iowa Water Trails Incubator, with leadership from the following organizations:

CapitalCrossroads Logo
CapitalCrossroads Logo

CatchDesMoines Logo
CatchDesMoines Logo

CommunityFoundation Logo
CommunityFoundation Logo

Des Moines Area MPO
Des Moines Area MPO

Great Outdoors Foundation
Great Outdoors Foundation

Greater Des Moines Partnership
Greater Des Moines Partnership